Gold Partnership

FROM SEPTEMBER 12 TO 14, 2018
COPYRIGHT IN ACTION:
INTERNATIONAL PERSPECTIVES
ON REMEDIES

« COPYRIGHT IN ACTION: INTERNATIONAL PERSPECTIVES ON REMEDIES »

We often think of copyright as an abstract notion, such as a group of high principles destined to protect intellectual works. However, there are times when a creator must defend their intellectual property and have recourse to the courts, to regulative organizations or alternative methods of conflict resolution to protect their rights. That’s a long way from the ethereal application that we might think it is, these grand ideas of copyright protection are therefore faced with their materiality and become as real as if they were on an actual “battleground”.

Under the theme of Copyright protection in action, ALAI Canada is honored to host the ALAI International Congress 2018.

You may, during this event, explore the multiple aspects of recourses in copyright protection, and this, in the heart of Old Montreal, which is not only a touristic hot-spot in Montreal, but also the center for justice in Montreal considering that this is where you will find the Montreal Courthouse, the Court of Appeal of Quebec and the Federal Court.

Welcome and enjoy the congress!

OLD PORT OF MONTRÉAL

The Old Port is the perfect place for dining, relaxing, shopping, and enjoying sunny days at the Clock Tower Beach. Paddleboats, quadricycles, and a guided historical tour help you see the city from a new perspective, while several cruises and excursions offer maritime activities, at full speed or nice and easy with a gourmet meal.

LACHINE CANAL NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE

On a bike, on foot or aboard a boat, the Lachine Canal is a veritable link between the city and nature. Located in the southwest section of Montreal, its 14.5-kilometer urban route runs between the Old Port and Lake Saint-Louis, a navigable waterway punctuated by five locks. Along its banks, a linear green urban park is lined with vestiges of the industrial era when the canal boomed. Throughout the year, a varied schedule of activities makes this historic site a great place to experience with family or friends.

JACQUES-CARTIER BRIDGE

Inaugurated in 1931, originally named the Montreal Harbour Bridge, it was renamed in 1934 to commemorate the 400th anniversary of Jacques Cartier’s first voyage up the St. Lawrence River. To mark the 375th anniversary of Montreal, the bridge was fitted with new decorative lights, which allows for varying colors and animation. The interior lighting network changes with the passing of seasons, while the exterior lighting network uses big data, translated in real time to feed LED lighting networks on the outsides of the bridge superstructure, making the structure the first “connected” bridge in the world.

MOUNT ROYAL PARK

Inaugurated in 1876, the park is the result of work by renowned landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted, also known for grand American parks such as New York’s Central Park. The park is home to many plants and birds and many activities take place there throughout the year. Les Amis de la Montagne is a non-profit organization that protects, improves and promotes the sustainability of the park, they offer services and activities, including an exposition at the Smith House. Landmarks and interactive maps offer capsules to help visitors discover the beauty and the richness of this park.

PARC JEAN-DRAPEAU

Situated on two islands on the St-Laurence Seaway, Parc Jean-Drapeau offers an array of attractions and activities. The multipurpose paths, including 25km of bicycle lanes, all lead to magnificent panoramas of the river and downtown Montreal. There are about 15 renowned public artworks – including the monumental stabile by Calder, entitled Man – which are on display year-round. The park includes a beach, three heated exterior pools, the La Ronde amusement park, two museums and a casino. Year round, there are different music festivals, a fireworks competition, International sporting events and other popular events.

IT TAKES A GAY VILLAGE

The Village’s come-one, come-all spirit marks this rainbow-hued quarter as a vital part of the city’s urban landscape. Both an LGBTQ community gathering point and a living, breathing neighborhood, the Village is far more than one of Montréal’s liveliest party hubs and the center of summer’s Pride events – although, nowhere else quite gets down in the quite same way.

OLD PORT OF MONTREAL

A stone’s throw from downtown, the Old Port is filled with unique activities and points of view. In the summer, you can relax at the Clock Tower Beach, rent pedal boats, bicycles or quadricycles, enjoy a guided heritage tour on a Segway, or take a cruise on the river. The Old Port is also home to the Montréal Science Centre and its IMAX® TELUS theatre. In winter, Natrel Fire on Ice, Igloofest, a large outdoor skating rink, and a host of activities enliven this magical part of the city.

MARY, QUEEN OF THE WORLD CATHEDRAL

Inspired by St-Peter’s Basilica in Rome, this cathedral dates back to the end of the XIXth century and was built in the middle of what was considered the heart of the anglo-protestant area of the city. Inside, covering the alter, you will find a superb neo-baroque baldaquin which is hand-made with red copper and gold leaf. In the transept, works of art by Georges Delfosse illustrating the history of Montreal.

NOTRE-DAME BASILICA OF MONTREAL

The first church of the Gothic Revival style in Canada, Notre-Dame Basilica was built between 1824 and 1829. It is well-known for exceptional wood carvings and decoration of the interior as well as the audacious modern architecture of the Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Coeur chapel. Artwork, sculptures and stained glass windows depict biblical episodes, the three and a half centuries of the parish and Montreal’s history.

PLACE DES ARTS

Located at the heart of the Quartier des spectacles and of downtown Montréal, Place des Arts is the biggest cultural complex in Canada. The six concert halls, including the Maison Symphonique, count up to nearly 8000 seats. The exterior terrasse is the place to be during large festivals. The music, the theatre, dance, opera, song and humor are all on the bill year round.

SAINT JOSEPH’S ORATORY OF MOUNT-ROYAL

Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount-Royal, founded by Saint Brother André, is a Catholic shrine dedicated to Saint Joseph and well known as a pilgrimage site throughout the world. Construction began in 1904 with a small chapel and continued with a votive chapel, a crypt, the exquisite Garden of the Way of the Cross, and a majestic basilica including a dome that reaches 97 meters tall (2nd tallest after Saint Peter’s Basilica in Rome).

PLATEAU MONT-ROYAL AND MILE-END

When we think of Montreal, we think of the Plateau with its spiral staircases, of bagel shops in Mile-End and Arcade Fire. It all started right here in these rich and trendy neighborhoods situated north of the downtown sector. They are well-known for their picturesque residential streets and animated nightlife.

MONTREAL FESTIVALS AND EVENTS FOR EVERYONE

Festivals and grand events are a cornerstone of life in Montréal. Jazz, comedy, avant-garde dance, poutine – name a season, art form or signature local dish and you’ll find Montréal has a festival for it. From illuminated winter festivals of art, gastronomy and outdoor sports to international rhythms and circus performances in the heat of summer, the city’s festivals and special events gather locals and visitors alike in the name of celebration. Relaxing under the sun or in the plush comfort of a theatre seat, festival-goers and artists from all walks of life come together to create Montreal’s truly unique festival vibe.

Du 12 au 14 septembre 2018
LE DROIT
D’AUTEUR EN ACTION:
PERSPECTIVES INTERNATIONALES
SUR LES RECOURS

« LE DROIT D’AUTEUR EN ACTION : PERSPECTIVES INTERNATIONALES SUR LES RECOURS »

On pense souvent au droit d’auteur de façon abstraite, comme d’un ensemble de grands principes destinés à protéger les œuvres de l’esprit. Mais il arrive parfois que les créateurs doivent défendre leur propriété intellectuelle et avoir recours aux tribunaux, à des organismes de régulation ou à des modes alternatifs de résolution des conflits afin de faire valoir leurs droits. Loin alors d’une application éthérée, ces grands principes du droit d’auteur sont alors confrontés à leur matérialité et ils se vivent sur le terrain quand ce n’est pas sur le « champ de bataille ».

C’est sous ce thème du droit d’auteur en action que l’ALAI Canada a le plaisir d’accueillir, à Montréal, le Congrès International 2018 de l’ALAI.

Vous pourrez, au cours de celui-ci, explorer les multiples facettes des recours en droit d’auteur et ce, au cœur du Vieux-Montréal, lequel est non seulement l’un des fleurons touristiques de la ville mais également le centre de la justice montréalaise puisqu’on y trouve le Palais de Justice, la Cour d’appel du Québec et la Cour fédérale.

Bienvenue à tous et bon congrès !

OLD PORT OF MONTRÉAL

The Old Port is the perfect place for dining, relaxing, shopping, and enjoying sunny days at the Clock Tower Beach. Paddleboats, quadricycles, and a guided historical tour help you see the city from a new perspective, while several cruises and excursions offer maritime activities, at full speed or nice and easy with a gourmet meal.

LIEU HISTORIQUE NATIONAL DU CANAL-DE-LACHINE

À vélo, à pied ou en bateau, les visiteurs du Canal-de-Lachine profitent d’une pause nature à vol d’oiseau de la trépidation urbaine. Situé dans le sud-ouest de Montréal, le canal est un véritable trait d’union entre la ville et la nature. Parcours de 14,5 kilomètres dessiné entre le Vieux-Port et le lac Saint-Louis, parc verdoyant, voie navigable ponctuée de cinq écluses, berges bordées de vestiges industriels et un calendrier varié d’activités font de ce lieu emblématique une expérience que vous voudrez partager en famille ou entre amis.

LE PONT JACQUES-CARTIER

Inauguré en 1931 sous le nom de Harbor Bridge, ce lien entre Longueuil et Montréal a pris le nom de pont Jacques-Cartier en 1934 en l’honneur de Jacques Cartier, explorateur français et premier Européen à décrire et cartographier le Saint-Laurent. La mise en lumière numérique et interactive du pont fait corps avec sa structure tout en finesse. Ce kaléidoscope numérique et interactif s’harmonise aux couleurs de chaque saison ainsi qu’à l’énergie de la ville. Des données recueillies en temps réel sont intégrées puis exprimées en lumière.

PARC DU MONT-ROYAL

Inauguré en 1876, le Parc du Mont-Royal est l’œuvre de Frederick Law Olmsted, concepteur émérite de plusieurs grands parcs américains, dont le Central Park de New York. On peut y observer une variété importante de plantes et d’oiseaux et plusieurs activités de plein air peuvent y être pratiquées. Les amis de la montagne offrent divers services et activités, dont une exposition à la maison Smith. Des bornes et une carte interactive proposent des capsules pour découvrir la beauté et les richesses du parc.

PARC JEAN-DRAPEAU

Sur deux îles du fleuve Saint-Laurent, le parc Jean-Drapeau réunit une multitude d’attractions et d’activités. Ses sentiers polyvalents, dont 25 kilomètres de pistes cyclables, débouchent sur de magnifiques panoramas du fleuve et du centre-ville. Une quinzaine d’œuvres d’art public d’une grande valeur – dont l’immense stabile de Calder, intitulé L’Homme – y sont exposées en permanence.Le parc abrite une plage, trois piscines extérieures chauffées, le parc d’attractions La Ronde, deux musées et un casino. Il accueille en toute saison de nombreux festivals de musique, une compétition de feux d’artifice, des événements sportifs internationaux et des fêtes populaires.

UN VILLAGE GAI OUVERT SUR LE MONDE

L’ouverture d’esprit qui règne dans le Village gai de Montréal en fait une zone vitale du paysage urbain montréalais. Point de rencontre de la communauté LGBTQ, secteur commerçant et lieu de résidence, le quartier arc-en-ciel n’est pas seulement le terrain de jeu des noctambules (même si, il faut bien le dire, l’ambiance y est du tonnerre).

VIEUX-PORT DE MONTRÉAL

À deux pas du centre-ville, le Vieux-Port regorge d’activités et de points de vue uniques. L’été, on peut se détendre à la Plage de l’Horloge, louer pédalos, vélos ou quadricycles, s’offrir une visite guidée du patrimoine du Vieux-Port montréalais en Segway ou partir en croisière sur le fleuve. Le Vieux-Port héberge aussi le Centre des sciences de Montréal et son cinéma IMAX® TELUS. L’hiver, les Feux sur glace Natrel, Igloofest, une vaste patinoire et une foule d’activités animent le quartier féerique sous la neige.

CATHÉDRALE MARIE-REINE DU MONDE

Inspirée de la basilique Saint-Pierre de Rome, cette cathédrale catholique qui date de la fin du XIXe siècle a été construite en plein cœur de ce qui était alors le quartier anglo-protestant de la ville. À l’intérieur, un superbe baldaquin néo-baroque recouvert de feuilles d’or domine la nef. Dans le transept, des tableaux de Georges Delfosse illustrent les débuts de Montréal.

BASILIQUE NOTRE-DAME DE MONTRÉAL

Chef-d’œuvre de l’architecture néo-gothique, la basilique Notre-Dame a été construite entre 1824 et 1829. Elle est réputée pour la richesse de sa décoration intérieure en bois et l’audacieuse architecture moderne de sa chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Cœur. Des tableaux, des sculptures et des vitraux illustrent des épisodes bibliques ainsi que les trois siècles et demi de l’histoire de la paroisse et de la société montréalaise.

PLACE DES ARTS

Située en plein cœur du Quartier des spectacles, la Place des Arts est le plus important complexe culturel au Canada. Ses six salles de spectacles, dont la Maison symphonique comptent au total près de 8000 sièges. Son esplanade extérieure est le lieu de rencontre des grands festivals. La musique, le théâtre, la danse, l’opéra, la chanson et l’humour sont à l’affiche à longueur d’année.

L’ORATOIRE SAINT-JOSEPH DU MONT-ROYAL

Ce sanctuaire constitue un des lieux de pèlerinage les plus fréquentés au monde. Son fondateur, saint frère André, en avait amorcé la construction en 1904. Le site est constitué d’un majestueux édifice dont le dôme atteint 97 mètres (deuxième en hauteur après celui de la basilique Saint- Pierre à Rome), de la petite chapelle des origines, d’une chapelle votive, d’une crypte, de jardins du chemin de la croix, d’une basilique pouvant accueillir près de 2000 fidèles.

LE PLATEAU ET LE MILE-END

Quand on imagine Montréal, on voit le Plateau. Des escaliers en spirale aux bagels du Mile-End en passant par Arcade Fire, tout a commencé ici, dans ce riche et vaste quartier branché situé au nord du centre-ville, réputé pour ses rues résidentielles pittoresques et ses nuits animées.

QUAND MONTRÉAL RIME AVEC FESTIVAL

Les Montréalais sont friands de festivals, autant de fourmilières remplies de la passion culturelle de la métropole. Quelles que soient la saison, l’heure ou la température, un événement n’attend pas l’autre et vous avez toute l’année pour en profiter. Alors que la musique, le cirque ou l’humour rassemblent des nuées de gens de tous âges, créant une ambiance festive vraiment unique en été, la ville continue de rayonner en hiver avec des festivals qui célèbrent la vitalité et la créativité, de la gastronomie aux sports extrêmes.